Contact Us   Site Map
Airline Mismanagement

 

 

 
 
Travel Planning and Assistance
Road Warrior resources
How to Book and Buy Travel
Scary, Silly and Stupid Security Stories
Airline Reviews
Airline (Mis)!Management
Miscellaneous Features
Reference Materials
About the Travel Insider
 
Search
Looking for something else? Search over two million words of free information on our site.
Custom Search
 
Free Newsletter

In addition to our feature articles, we offer you a free weekly newsletter with a mix of news and opinions on travel related topics.

 

 View Sample
Privacy Policy

 
Help this Site
Thank you for your interest in helping this site to continue to develop. Some of the information we give you here can save you thousands of dollars the next time you're arranging travel, or will substantially help the quality of your travel experiences in other, non-cash ways. Click for more information
 
Reader's Replies

If you'd like to add your own commentary, send me a note.

 

Harry L Nolan jr's reply

Author Harry L Nolan jr comments on the review

 

Read the emails the author insists I make available as his response to my review..

 

 

In a departure from the normal standard of author response, Harry Nolan chooses to attack my review but - exactly the same as his attacks on Delta's former CEOs - declines to give specifics.

For reasons best known to himself, he feels the following email chain represents his best form of response to my review.


 

From: Harry Nolan [mailto:[email protected]]
Sent: Thursday, April 20, 2006 5:13 PM
To: 'David M Rowell'
Subject: RE: Draft review
Importance: High

 

David,

If you persist in publishing your ‘review’, then I insist you publish the email below in its entirety as my rebuttal.

Cordially,
Harry

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From: David M Rowell
Sent: Thursday, April 20, 2006 3:41 PM
To: 'Harry Nolan'
Subject: RE: Draft review

 

Hi, Harry

I'm dismayed by your comments, but I will publish the review, updated to reflect your vaguely worded comments about 'turned this matter over to my attorney' below.

If your attorney has substantive matters of concern, I urge him to contact me soonest.

David.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From: Harry Nolan [mailto:[email protected]]
Sent: Thursday, April 20, 2006 2:22 PM
To: 'David M Rowell'
Subject: RE: Draft review
Importance: High

David,

Mark Twain is supposed to have said, “Never pick a fight with someone who buys ink by the barrel.” The modern equivalent would be, “Never pick a fight with someone who buys website space by the MB.”

It appears to me that my straightforward style of responding to your questions about my book has been misperceived as trying to pick a fight.

That is the only logical explanation I can find for what seems to be – to me as well as others to whom I have shown your draft – an attack in the name of a review.

The “review” has many flaws – factually and professionally. However, I have learned my lesson that any response from me would invite an even more intense attack. Therefore, I do not intend to write a rebuttal.

My professional and ethical values would not permit me to run a review of anyone’s book like that in the draft. However, you need to make your own decision whether you can look in the mirror or sleep soundly at night if you choose to run it.

This is not a threat and I hope you do not perceive it to be. However, in fairness to you, I must inform you that I have turned this matter over to my attorney. He is quite knowledgeable about commercial aviation (probably knows more than you and I combined). In addition, he is very familiar with Delta and the facts about that company. I would not have printed the book without his having reviewed the manuscript.

My request is you forget you ever read my book and quietly give the “review” a proper burial by pressing delete.

Cordially,
Harry

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From: David M Rowell
Sent: Thursday, April 20, 2006 8:30 AM
To: 'Harry Nolan'
Subject: RE: Draft review

Hi, Harry

We publish tonight - is there anything you'd like to add or comment on?

Cheers

David.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From: Harry Nolan [mailto:[email protected]]
Sent: Thursday, April 13, 2006 5:16 PM
To: 'David M Rowell'
Subject: RE: Draft review

David,

Thanks for sending this to me. I appreciate your taking the time to think about my book.

I have looked over the review briefly…and am a bit overwhelmed at the length and volume.

Tomorrow I will be on plane and will give your review the time it deserves.

I strongly request that you hold off putting the review online until I have gotten back to you.

Thanks…and I will get back to you over the weekend.

Cordially,
Harry

Harry L. Nolan, Jr., CMC, President
Management Advisory Services, Inc.
CATALYST FOR SUPERIOR LEADERSHIP AND PERFORMANCE

[email protected] www.masinc.net www.masinc.net/hln.htm
Mail: P.O. Box 421428, Atlanta, GA 30342
Street: 3340 Peachtree Road, Suite 1800 Tower Place, Atlanta, GA 30326
Direct: (404) 202-5109 Phone: (404) 261-2000 Fax: (404) 745-0844

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From: David M Rowell
Sent: Thursday, April 13, 2006 2:41 PM
To: 'Harry Nolan'
Subject: Draft review

Hi, Harry

They say there's no such thing as bad publicity, so perhaps there's also no such thing as a bad review. But - as you can see - while I have few problems with your underlying premise, I struggled with the lack of 'hard evidence' in your book.

I'm pleased to add a second page of response/rebuttal from you if you wish, and if you feel anything I've said unfairly/incorrectly misstates your views and commentary, I'll of course either correct such things or add your perspective to those comments too.

The review is currently on a pre-production server, it will go live sometime next week.

http://www.thetravelinsider.info/bookreviews/airlinewithoutapilot.htm

For what it is worth, I've spent a great deal more time on this review than most, and also, I see, written a great many more words on the topic too! Thanks for the thought-provoking read.

David.

[Return to Airline without a Pilot review page here]

 

If so, please donate to keep the website free and fund the addition of more articles like this. Any help is most appreciated - simply click below to securely send a contribution through a credit card and Paypal.

 

Originally published 21 Apr 2005, last update 19 Dec 2013

You may freely reproduce or distribute this article for noncommercial purposes as long as you give credit to me as original writer.

 
 
Other Reviews
The Way of the Road Warrior
Strategies for the Wise Passenger
Johnny Jet's Book of his Website
Illustrated History of Scotland
Castles of Scotland
Road Tripping USA
Mileage Pro Frequent Flyer Programs Guide
Ask the Pilot
Cruising Attitude
Airline Without a Pilot
Boeing vs Airbus
Travia - Ultimate Book of Travel Trivia
International Traveler Reference Books
On the Other Guy's Dime
Salk's Airport Transit Guide
Luxury Guide to Walt Disney World
Luxury Guide to Walt Disney World second edition
Seattle TourSaver
Seattle Great City Guide DVD
Hidden Mickeys
Gemutlichkeit Travel Letter
Passport Travel Newsletter
 
 

Your Feedback

How Would You Rate this Article

Poor
Average
Good

Was the Article Length and Coverage

Too short/simplistic
About right 
Too long/complex

Would You Like More Articles on this Subject

No
Maybe
Yes

Back to Top